Menu

John Wood and Paul Harrison: No Beginning - No Middle - No End

Exhibition view No Beginning - No Middle - No End 2010, photo: David Aebi

Exhibition view No Beginning - No Middle - No End 2010, photo: David Aebi

Exhibition view No Beginning - No Middle - No End 2010, photo: David Aebi

25. September – 28. November 2010

Kunstmuseum

The two british artists John Wood (*1969) and Paul Harrison (*1966) have been working together since 1993. The interaction of the two - either in a supportive or antagonistic manner - is simultaneously the condition and object of study of their artistic mode of expression. They are famous for their film works, but also engage in photography and drawing. Their minimalist, sculptural, installative and choreographed stagings oscillate between collapse, deliberation and coincidence. But they alway aim at the systematic order of things. In the lab-like environment of their videos small everyday objects or gestures obtain new functions and connotations and thereby offer something unforseen and unexpected for the viewer.

The artists develop their ideas with the help of drawings that later may take the form of videos, prints, photographs or sculptures, but which at the same time retain a sketchy and graphic quality. Their cinematic examinations in space and time take place mostly in spaces particularly created for that purpose and follow a pseudo-scientific method: the artists define the scenario, the starting point as well as the conditions and parameters of the events. But once the "ball" is running, coincidence is often the determing factor.

In the exhibition John Wood and Paul Harrison: No Beginning - No Middle - No End Kunstmuseum Thun focuses on the recent work of the two artists and in this context also displays the latest textual creations.

The exhibition was organised in collaboration with the Ikon Gallery Birmingham an the Musée départemental d'art contemporain de Rochechouart and is their first solo exhibition in an institution in Switzerland.

Menu

John Wood and Paul Harrison: No Beginning - No Middle - No End

Ausstellungsansicht No Beginning - No Middle - No End 2010, Foto: David Aebi

Ausstellungsansicht No Beginning - No Middle - No End 2010, Foto: David Aebi

Ausstellungsansicht No Beginning - No Middle - No End 2010, Foto: David Aebi

25. September – 28. November 2010

Kunstmuseum

Die beiden britische Künstler John Wood (*1969) und Paul Harrison (*1966) arbeiten seit 1993 zusammen. Das Zusammenspiel der beiden – sei es in unterstützender oder antagonistischer Weise – ist zugleich Bedingung und Untersuchungsgegenstand ihrer künstlerischen Ausdrucksweise. Sie sind bekannt für ihre filmischen Werke, beschäftigen sich aber auch mit Fotografie und Zeichnung. Meist sind es kurze Videoarbeiten, in denen sie Ernsthaftigkeit und Absurdität präzise verbinden. Ihre minimalistischen, skulpturalen, installativen und choreografierten Inszenierungen oszillieren zwischen Absturz, Kalkül und Zufall. Sie zielen aber immer auf die systematische Ordnung der Dinge. Kleine alltägliche Objekte oder Gesten erhalten in der laborartigen Umgebung ihrer Videos neue Funktionen und Konnotationen und damit etwas für den Betrachter Unvorhergesehenes und Unerwartetes.
Die Künstler entwickeln ihre Ideen anhand von Zeichnungen, die später die Form von Videos, Drucken, Fotografien oder Skulpturen annehmen mögen, welche aber gleichzeitig eine skizzenhafte und graphische Qualität beibehalten. Ihre filmischen Untersuchungen in Raum und Zeit finden meist in zu diesem Zweck erstellten Räumen statt und folgen einer pseudo-wissenschaftlichen Methode: Die Künstler bestimmen die Szenerie, den Ausgangspunkt sowie die Bedingungen und Parameter der Geschehnisse. Sobald der "Ball" aber ins Rollen kommt, ist oft der Zufall das bestimmende Element. Mit der Ausstellung John Wood and Paul Harrison: No Beginning - No Middle - No End legt das Kunstmuseum Thun einen Fokus auf die neueren Werke des Künstlerpaares und zeigt in diesem Zusammenhang auch die jüngst entstandenen Textarbeiten.

Die Ausstellung ist in Zusammenarbeit mit der Ikon Gallery Birmingham und dem Musée départemental d'art contemporain de Rochechouart entstanden und ist ihre erste institutionelle Einzelausstellung in der Schweiz.